Nos membres ont écrit un total de 4,132 revues de concert. Cette page est un excellent moyen d'explorer de nouveaux ou anciens étonnants concerts ou bootlegs,actualiser la page pour voir de nouvelles choses. Les concerts les plus cotés sont basés sur les concerts avec plus de deux revues. Vous pouvez également écrire un commentaire si vous avez assisté ou écouté un concert, et nous vous y invitons!

Joshua Tree Tour 2017

207 revues ont été écrites par 165 utilisateurs.

2017-09-22 - San Diego

Ecrit par jennagirl - il y a 27 jours

Solid but not spectacular U2 show relative to others. This was my 5th show on the tour - Seattle and Toronto were standouts with Vancouver, New Jersey and San Diego a step behind. I think for the fans who don't see as many shows or follow along obsessively on line it would be a 4.5 but judging against other shows this tour it was not quite as magical as some other nights. But still a great show and always worth the trip to see them. Sad to see my JT tour close but grateful for the opportunity to see this amazing talented band and will never take it for granted.
Lire la revue complète »

Performance:
Public:
Son:
Général:

2017-06-14 - Tampa par mgross15 évalué

U2 and Bono were energetic and sound quality was great! It rained during One Repuplic as the opening act,..
Lire la revue complète »

2017-10-03 - Mexico City par bonomau évalué

U2 played amazingly. Sound was superb, bass was deep and powerful as ever. Edge nailed all his parts perfectly (although..
Lire la revue complète »

2017-09-22 - San Diego par bushido529 évalué

This was a great show overall. I started when I woke up at 5am in the morning to take a..
Lire la revue complète »


Innocence and Experience tour

284 revues ont été écrites par 174 utilisateurs.

2015-10-10 - Barcelona

Ecrit par u2fancat - il y a 2 années

#4 of 4. This was U2's last night in Spain.. and I was there! Got up nice and late - it was quite breezy, so I took an overshirt with me: coat still not required, of course. I headed into Placa de Catalunya, figuring I'd take it from there. Google Maps was kind enough to inform me that my handiest route there was to take either the L94 or L95 bus, which headed to just off the square. And I put my ticket in the machine the right way around, for once. :-)

I was somewhat concerned that the LCD display showing the stop names was practically illegible - both on the outward and return journeys, the text was in a watery yellow that blended nicely into the black background. But as we passed a stop on the way in, I noticed the departure board, which said that the destination of my bus was, in fact, Placa de Catalunya. Lovely - the terminus.

I got off and wondered where to go for brunch - my first priority. A quick look around didn't reveal much, and I didn't want to spend too long looking - I was too hungry. I finally decided that the huge department store, El Corté Inglés, might be my best bet - they surely had a café, and it would surely be both reasonably priced and have fairly standard dishes, so no translation problems.

It turned out I had to go all the way to the ninth floor.. where they have a restaurant, which I considered, but the people in front of me exchanged some words with a waiter and left, and it looked very much as though they needed to have reserved. Instead, I queued for the more casual café - still with table service, but no tablecloths, no glasses or cutlery left on the tables, and paper placemats and boxes of napkins. I didn't really have to queue for long, despite how busy the place was.

Despite the busyness, service was decently quick. I dithered between the chicken, which sounded tastier, and the beef escalope with spaghetti and chips, which sounded more filling, and which my hunger chose. Same brunch as Tuesday, in fact! And a glass of wine. And it was very nice. The chips were actually terrific - you know how good chips can taste, but rarely do? These were such chips. For dessert - by which time things had calmed down a bit - I, of course, had the "death by chocolate" (I can rarely resist that), which in this case was a chocolate sponge slice with chocolate filling and dark chocolate beads on top. And it was sooo good.. I'd definitely go back there for that alone!

By this time, it was too hot to be bothered exploring any more, and I waited in the shade, in a cool breeze, for the bus back to the hotel. Still, it was a relief when it came, and again when the aircon started. I recognised my stop from the buildings we passed - the indicator board was useless again.

After a relaxing afternoon, which featured another nap, I headed out. I must be getting fit - the walk didn't knock as much out of me that evening! Bought a Cedarwood Road t-shirt, which had caught my eye the day before.

So, I was in the front row of my section. This time, however, it was towards the back - more so than the night before. The people at the very back, who are at the wrong side of the vidi-wall, get a smaller, dedicated screen, at right angles to the vidi-wall, showing footage of both stages and the vidi-wall. From where I was sitting, I had a good view of both screens. And I noticed that Bono spent much of his time on the "e" stage singing directly to the people at the back.

It's becoming something of a hobby of mine to watch the crowd's reaction to something they weren't expecting to happen. It seems that the word has gone around that when the band say goodbye, they don't mean it, there's more to come - but it was nice to see that several things in the concert still surprised them. And they STILL don't know that the band don't come on until People Have the Power starts to play.. and even then, not immediately..

Once they'd started, I noticed something I hadn't noticed before on this tour - as usual, the further away you are, the more of the spectacle you get to see. Being too close has its disadvantages. People with seats at the back, take heart. Now, a funny thing happened to me tonight - I'm finding that, the more of these concerts I go to, the more into them I'm getting. In fact, for the first four songs, I lost it completely that night.. For their second song, they cycle among three - Gloria, The Electric Co., and Out of Control. For my money, Gloria holds the crown, among these three, of Best Live Song. I always loved seeing it live, and I'm stoked that it's such a regular on this tour - doesn't usually happen! Again, Mrs. Bono was in the house, as mentioned by Bono at the start of Song For Someone, written for her.

Now, the pattern thus far has been that, for Mysterious Ways, Bono brings a girl onstage to dance with him, then she films the band doing a number, which is streamed live on Meerkat. Sometimes, they bring a guy up from the audience to play guitar on that number. Well, Bono was in a mischievous mood, and ever the champion of equal opportunities, he brought up a girl to play guitar, and a guy to dance with. The guy wore one of those glittery cowboy hats and a feather boa, and threw some real shapes. Until his irate wife appeared onstage, ordering him to get down! He complied, after making sure she got a shot of him with each member of the band. Bono got her to do the Meerkat stream - half of which came out upside-down! Then he had a chat with her. "Are you local? Are you from Barcelona?" "I'm from Spain." "What's your name?" "Penélope"..

"So, that would be.. his Bardem-ness?" teased Bono. Yes, these were Penélope Cruz (in a wig) and her husband, Javier Bardem, who - I guess - stayed for the after-show party. Turns out they're enthusiastic supporters of the Red campaign. We may not have had the tv crews there like the night before, but what a show they missed! And then Bono sang Spanish Eyes, for Penélope of course. About time - I was wondering whether he'd ever get around to it in this, the only Spanish city on their tour!

On this occasion, it was October that moved me to tears. And it seems that rounding off the show with Bad and 40 is a staple for the last night in any city. What a night! What a week! What a city! Truly memorable. Oh, but I can't wait for the tour to hit London, on the 25th (you know I'll be there..)
Lire la revue complète »

Performance:
Public:
Son:
Général:

2015-07-27 - New York par phenshaw évalué

So a bit of background, which will add or detract credibility from my review!

I’ve seen them 7 times..
Lire la revue complète »

2015-05-30 - Inglewood par bcwgobuffs évalué

So far starters, let’s put this review into context. LA 530 was my 18th or so show since 1983..
Lire la revue complète »

2015-11-28 - Dublin par u2fancat évalué

Not as many people looking for tickets tonight - unlike last night, where we had the guy mimicking the homeless,..
Lire la revue complète »


U2 360° Tour

725 revues ont été écrites par 365 utilisateurs.

2011-06-18 - Anaheim

Ecrit par bushido529 - il y a 9 mois

This was my 1st GA show for any U2 show, i'll say that this was my greatest concert experience ever. I went with my mother early to start lining up. i remember it was hot outside. We heard U2 rehearsing. I heard the bass line for The Fly, I remember thinking "No way, don't tell me they're going to play this right?" I was thinking, it must be Ultraviolet's bass cause it was the 2nd night since HMTMKMKM was played yesterday, then it went to EBTTRT, COBL and Zooropa. I remember taking a nap after the band/crew stopped soundchecking, i heard cheering, they were letting people in. So i remember running to the 360 stage, all of us were running ignoring the security lol, but anyway we got in the circle on Adam's side underneath the bridge. I didn't care for Lenny, but what ever, it passed time. It seemed like a huge wait but i heard Space Oddity, i got excited. Did U2 started out with EBTTRT, i was jumping up and down, the crowd was hyper. After the song ended, i was expecting IWf, but something amazing happened. i Bono grab his guitar and immediately knew it was the fly. I screamed in laugher, this opening concert played 5 AB songs in a row. After when One finished, then the Amazing Grace snippet started and i knew something was weird and unexpected, Streets was the 6th song of the night followed by IWF. This was a completely different setlist. I was thing what was going on. The was a great twist to all of the repetitive setlist from the previous shows. Pretty much after that amazing moment, the setlist was the same but with Walk On finished the main set. Ultraviolet opened the Encore, the 6th AB song to be played. AMAZING, half the album. MoS finished this amazing show, with a Jungleland snippet. This show was amazing. this is 2nd place of my top 3 U2 shows.
Lire la revue complète »

Performance:
Public:
Son:
Général:

2009-09-23 - East Rutherford par EDDMB évalué

I loved this show."The Manhattan skylin,The City Of Blinding Lights".Bonos great quote.Nothing like seeing the band band here.Your Blue Room..
Lire la revue complète »

2011-07-20 - East Rutherford par EDDMB évalué

Loved it.A great way to end the 360 tour for me.The band played a great show this night.They were all..
Lire la revue complète »

2009-08-18 - Glasgow par Anam évalué

When U2 played Glasgow in 2009, it was less a '360 degree' experience and more a '220 degree' one. As..
Lire la revue complète »


Vertigo Tour

420 revues ont été écrites par 126 utilisateurs.

2006-02-12 - Monterrey

Ecrit par Bloodraven - il y a 2 années

20 years of my life waiting to see them, and this is what I got.

The crowd was disappointing, even before getting to the stadium, maybe it's just anecdotal evidence, but there were a lot of people going because it would be cool to say "I went to see U2" even if they didn't know nothing but a couple of songs.

In the stadium, around me I was the only weirdo singing and screaming and jumping while everyone else just stared me from their own seats as if we were at some symphonic orchestra instead of at a U2 show.

In my mind it was just a "not-so-awesome" experience, but when I downloaded and listened to the bootleg it came back to me and no. It was not just "not-so-awesome". It was terrible.
The bootleg is even worse than reality with the few guys around the mic talking through the whole show.

Cielito Lindo was a bad choice itself for Bad, but it was worse that it was the only thing people decided to sing along. It looked like they didn't cared about Bad or anything else on the concert, oh but they can sing Cielito Lindo. I had forgotten how embarrased I felt at the moment (after the initial couple of seconds of "oh, that's cool!" when Bono started it), but the bootleg reminded it to me.

Finally, even after Love And Peace or Else had already started, the guys near the microphone in the bootleg are still discussing and betting that it's Desire what they're about to play.
I said finally because that's all that I could take and deleted it on the spot. Didn't even finished the song.

It was so bad I would find it funny if I hadn't been there.
Lire la revue complète »

Performance:
Public:
Son:
Général:

2005-05-18 - East Rutherford par EDDMB évalué

Great show.I was lucky to have attended 4 shows from this tour.This show stands out,as well as NYC 10.07.05.But,the band..
Lire la revue complète »

2005-10-04 - Boston par MattG évalué

I downloaded the entire thing solely to hear "Crumbs From Your Table" placed that early in the setlist, and listened..
Lire la revue complète »

2005-06-18 - London par EDDMB évalué

Its great..I would give it a 5 but..the 3 missing songs make me take off a notch.This is a MUST..
Lire la revue complète »


Elevation Tour

328 revues ont été écrites par 87 utilisateurs.

2001-03-30 - Atlanta

Ecrit par dank2525 - il y a 1 année

Brian and I had just recovered from Miami, and decided we could not miss this. Climbed in a car and left. Newly married wife was like "yes, you have to do this!" Philips arena was new back then, just beautiful.

the show was so much energy.
we came to feel good. we got satisfied.

I remember walking out after the show and I innocently sang a little too loudly "how long???..." and some people next to us sang it then instantly, the entire concourse erupted into "HOW LONG!!!! TO SING THIS SONG!!!'

Just unbelievable show. Like, did that band just do that??????
Lire la revue complète »

Performance:
Public:
Son:
Général:

2001-07-21 - Turin par cesar_garza01 évalué

A good show that the crowd converted into a great show. Special performances of Pride and Out Of Control after..
Lire la revue complète »

2001-11-23 - Phoenix par MattG évalué

Even though the sound was the only thing meriting a 4.5 star recording, some of the treats throughout this show..
Lire la revue complète »

2001-06-12 - Philadelphia par cesar_garza01 évalué

This concert is strange, because it has so many highlights but one or two considerable lows. Bono was sick. He..
Lire la revue complète »


Popmart

336 revues ont été écrites par 104 utilisateurs.

1998-03-21 - Johannesburg

Ecrit par nfsmulder - il y a 8 mois

Review written on 22 March, 1998.

Saturday night i was rather deaf and got in bed @ 2am - but sooooooo excited. A dream came true. There’s this ultra marathon in South Africa - 90 kilometres (60 miles?). Once the winner commented looking @ the crowd still finishing in the heat 7 hours after him, that they experience the true spirit of the event. So was the U2 concert. 35 metres from the front or was it 50? Seeing the screen beautifully, but having to stretch to see the stars we wanted to thrill kiss, hold, &kill :-). Afterwards smelling from beer, nicotine, marijuana and dripping from sweat, but happy after a truly spiritual experience. It was the best worship of God I ever had (even better than church where I lead it) when we pleaded with God in 40 and throughout.

The event was broadcast semi-live over national television. Semi because the show started 9:30 and on tv @ 10 so they could squeze commercials in - so popmartish :-).

Looking 2 the show afterwards on tv I got the best of both worlds. Live the vibe and crowd…..tv the quality and some moments you missed in the crowd.

I taped it from my VCR to tape - great listen in the car. Anybody wanna trade? I need Achtung baby & Zooropa on CD.

What a mess afterwards. Interesting - selling beer in plastic bottles - good thing :-). Were there from 5:00. Tickets (ours) cost 170 rand each for me and my youngest brother - I made him the U2 fan year’s ago, so he bought the tickets. We sang “how long to sing this song probably for 5 minutes and heard some music and went wild!!!

But that wasn’t them. Just a cd. Then: looking for baby Jesus under the trash.

U2 - thanx for blessing us. We’ll pray for you guys. Peace to you and fans all around the world.
Lire la revue complète »

Performance:
Public:
Son:
Général:

1997-12-12 - Seattle par Thefredmartin évalué

Hey Lads and Lassies! It's been a long time since this show, nearly twenty years, but it's a story I've..
Lire la revue complète »

1997-08-28 - Leeds par ric évalué

absolutely the best popmart gig in my opinion - there are a couple of other shows that might be considered..
Lire la revue complète »

1997-05-26 - Washington par cesar_garza01 évalué

To me, this is the best Popmart show of the first leg. Crazy things happened to U2 in Washington. The..
Lire la revue complète »


ZOO TV

500 revues ont été écrites par 133 utilisateurs.

1993-06-12 - Cologne

Ecrit par GoneBad - il y a 8 mois

At that time, I was overwhelmed by the sheer size, dimension and loudness of the event. It was my first and still only concert of that size, and it was incredible, but I also remember thinking they shouldn't make such a fuzz and just play the songs. Today I see it differently, I love the Sidney Concert film of the tour.
But I also realized that I'm not the type to got to these kind of events. Too many people in one place. I dont feel comfortable.
Strangely, the Dublin-Show that was broadcasted on Zoo Radio shorty after that, managed to be more memorable too me. Therefore, 4 Stars.
Lire la revue complète »

Performance:
Public:
Son:
Général:

1992-06-13 - Kiel par cesar_garza01 évalué

The beginning of this show was really strong, with Bono trying to talk in German. Excellent versions of EBTTRT, Mysterious..
Lire la revue complète »

1992-08-13 - East Rutherford par loftarasa évalué

Solely the sound quality should make the Matrix a must have in your collection.

The concert itself has got a rather..
Lire la revue complète »

1992-04-23 - Vancouver par Breemsicle évalué

One of my favorite 1st leg shows, second only to the Boston Saint Patrick's Day show.

Highlights:

Even Better than the Real..
Lire la revue complète »


Lovetown

175 revues ont été écrites par 72 utilisateurs.

1990-01-06 - Rotterdam

Ecrit par MWSAH - il y a 9 années

Sometimes I wonder why I was born in December 1988, one year before this lovely concert in Rotterdam. I was probably in my cradle as a 1-year old boy when Edge hit the first tabs of Where the Streets Have No Name in Ahoy Rotterdam on that special 6th of January 1990, 90 kilometres from my hometown.

I often ask myself the question: what would it have been like to be part of the audience during a Lovetown-show. I fell in love with the Point Depot gigs in Ireland, and the Rotterdam-shows from early January were even better, some say. Lovetown:the name itself explains it, like BB King spells during When Love Comes To Town: L-O-V-E. Yes, I love rock, I love U2, but I especially love Lovetown. Don't get me wrong, because I know the Joshua Tour was enormous and awesome. And Zoo TV was one big happening, followed by Popmart, whether you like it or not. Also Elevation gives me special feelings and was my favourite tour for a long time. But Lovetown is top-notch. The mix of songs between the Joshua Tree and Rattle and Hum, performed in small places with BB King's Orchestra makes Lovetown the best tour for me. I didn't take long and U2 didn't even cross the world with it. But the modesty of it does it for me. Like Bono says at a Point Depot show: 'After all these big places, we wanted to play a small place'.

Lovetown also marked the end of a decade in which U2 finally showed itself to the world in full glory. Live Aid in 1985 was a very important turning point, sealed by the release of The Joshua Tree. But U2 felt that every end had a start. U2 was looking for a new direction and needed time.

The energy and commitment of U2 was awesome back then. Bono was at his prime. His voice was a mix between the Joshua Tour and the upcoming Zoo TV. And U2 really enjoyed what they were doing. Lovetown was not a show, it was no entertainment like Zoo TV or Popmart. It wasn't a show with political context, like Vertigo. It was based on music, pure music, pure rock and roll. And you can feel the excitement and joy of U2 trough these shows. I guess they enjoyed every bit, like the audience.

U2's first European success was actually founded in Holland, where the single I Will Follow became a giant hit. Bono mentions this during this Rotterdam show when they start Love Rescue Me, when he says: 'And this is also a good place to end, because we more or less started here ten years ago. You've been very good for us, thank you!'. The crowd was ecstatic.

This show is awesome. It has reached a nice spot in my top ten favourites, I think. It's equal to the Point Depot shows, with U2 really on fire. I missed New Year's Day and Bad, but I know U2 played 4 shows at Rotterdam. The Bad from the 10th of January is one of the best there is.
This show is quite memorable as The Unforgettable Fire was played for the last time. I listened to this show trough my Sennheiser CX300 and my eyes shut. I transferred myself to Ahoy, Rotterdam, 18 years ago, being in the audience. I felt the energy, I experienced U2 in their best days
Lire la revue complète »

Performance:
Public:
Son:
Général:

1989-12-15 - Dortmund par cesar_garza01 évalué

It doesn't get any better than this Lovetown leg and Dortmund is no exception. Perhaps the best show of the..
Lire la revue complète »

1989-12-01 - Osaka par aussiemofo évalué

Highlights
* The upside down setlist

* Bono playing audience cop as he was prone to do during this era. I don't..
Lire la revue complète »

1989-11-18 - Sydney par cesar_garza01 évalué

A very special show for multiple reasons: they had to evacuate the venue due to a bomb threat (sounds familiar?),..
Lire la revue complète »


Joshua Tree Tour

293 revues ont été écrites par 95 utilisateurs.

1987-06-17 - Cologne

Ecrit par bodoheil - il y a 2 années

The atmosphere was very foul. It was my first U2 concert, but not my first stadium concert, and I remember it well. The rain had started in the afternoon, but in the morning and around noon it had been very hot. There was a terrible pushing and shoving of the audience waiting at the entrances for doors open, and many seemed to be well drunk and I did see many, many empty drinks containers, beer cans, wine packs and bottles outside. The doors open seemed badly organised. Some a few yards away opened before others did, the seemed to be little coordination. People were pissed off by that, they wanted an equal chance in the run to the centre stage spots.

The openers, I remember The Pretenders, Big Audio Dynamite and Lou Reed, were all booed and generally badly accepted, at least in the part of the audience I happened to be stuck in, which was third, second row, slightly to the right of centre stage. The place looked like an open battle for the first row and of course I participated first, being rather stoutly built and not one to back off easily. This concert had meant the world to me, after I had gotten hold of a ticket, through a multitude of different lucky concurrences.

I believe, I cannot be sure anymore about it, that The Daltons opened last. I might confuse that, though, with a show I might have seen on the internet of that time, after all, it's been 28 years.

When WTSHNN began with its droning synth-sounds and the guitar's delayed arpeggios, and the band appeared one by one, the crowd went mad and the stifling squeeze got worse. But when the bass and the drums joined and slowly built up the song's hard pushing, driving beat the crowd went berserk. I had a fight with an American, a GI by his crew cut and confidence, and the security did not notice. He hit me in the nose, but luckily he could not swing properly, for lack of room to move. I could not get my arms up enough, so I hit where I could. The security were highly unprofessional (I did that job later in life myself) and completely taken aback with the sheer violence of the crowd's pushing forward, the yelling and the screaming of girls who obviously were in acute fear. The waves of people’s shoving often moved me ten or more yards away from where I had been before. I remember the moment when the band jumped into the first song and the red lights flooded all over the rain-drenched crowd. The heat from the electric lights washed over the people and actually felt quite warm on the face. Seconds afterwards clouds of vapour of the drying rain partially took away the sight of the stage.

I had had enough by then. I withdrew to the seats ranks, found myself a place and watched from about a hundred yards away. I was deeply disappointed with the on-goings and felt betrayed and let down. I had thought that we had all been there together to celebrate the same thing. I had been wrong. U2 had become a phenomenon and had stopped being a rock and roll band. They were a sensation, not music to dance and sing the lyrics and to feel alive by, because the songs spoke to you about your life and you inner self. This was a spectacle, not a concert. No one danced. They all fought. No one sang. Everybody screamed. No one had fun. They all tried to hold on to their place or get a better one by being more brutal than the opponent, because that is what everybody was, an adversary and a rival in trying to be as close to the band as possible. Do not think that I was naive about it. I understood as I do now that people want to be as close as possible to their lucky stars. But I wasn't expecting the brutality I encountered, and it did not seem to make sense, and I was not prepared to put up with it, as I would not be today. I do not think that it was anything else but sheer good fortune that there wasn't anyone killed in the throng in front of the stage. It was brutal enough for that. None of my later U2 shows had that quality and quantity of ruthlessness and viciousness.

When 40 began I was on my way out, walking outside the stadium trying to hitchhike my way back to where I was due. I remember feeling like hell. It took me weeks to be able to enjoy the music again.
Lire la revue complète »

Performance:
Public:
Son:
Général:

1987-09-12 - Philadelphia par viridian1 évalué

First concert I ever went to age 17. I haven't missed a U2 tour since. Listening to this was like..
Lire la revue complète »

1987-10-20 - Iowa City par IAFAN évalué

This was my first U2 show. Met Bono before the show. Hours before they were warming up and..
Lire la revue complète »

1987-07-08 - Brussels par djrlewis évalué

I must have been in quite a bad place when I listened to this those months ago. Even my picky..
Lire la revue complète »


Conspiracy Of Hope

21 revues ont été écrites par 10 utilisateurs.

1986-06-13 - Rosemont

Ecrit par MattG - il y a 7 années

Everything I WASN'T looking forward to about this show, I loved. "Pride" and "Maggie's Farm", I wasn't all that cracked up about listening to. The former is on just about every show I ever listen to, and it gets tiring, the latter I just didn't care much about. They ended up both being phenomenal.

The "Norwegian Wood" intro to "Bad" is outstanding, and chorus gives me goosebumps. Listen to some recent shows (Vertigo, 360°), and then give this one a spin- Yes, folks- Bono DID used to sound like that

Everything about this show is simply gorgeous. Download it RIGHT. NOW.
Lire la revue complète »

Performance:
Public:
Son:
Général:


Unforgettable Fire Tour

247 revues ont été écrites par 67 utilisateurs.

1985-04-18 - Worcester

Ecrit par cesar_garza01 - il y a 2 années

One of the most special UF shows and the best setlist of the tour! At the beginning Bono said they wanted to give something special to Massachusetts, and boy, they did. Last Brick, A Day Without Me and I Fall Down ever. A Day Without Me is a mess, Dear Prudence snippet included, but it's a fun mess. Even Bono says "sometimes you just forget". Unforgettable Fire was very special with the "Stay tonight in a lie" replaced by diff. lyrics and sounded very good. The show continued in great way, and Electric Co. was another highlight, as usual for UF shows. After that, Bono picks up a boy from the audience, his father explains in the mic that his name is Ever Peaceful (no kidding!). Bono says that's the best name he ever heard, then he wanted to give him a balloon but it pops, he says he wants an "Ever Peaceful Award" procured.
Bad is over 12 min long with great snippets. During NYD, Bono tosses the mic down, and you hear some cheering, so maybe he was doing his climbing thing around the place. Party Girl is 7 min long! All bets are off, some girl Bono calls Maid Marion is introduced to Ever Peaceful. Bono, as all the joking continues, says something like "We're a really serious political band, remember?" He then serenades Ever with the "Papa come home" snippet introducing Ever Peaceful into the snippet! The boy grabs Bono's hat and B. sings Auld Lang Syne for him. I Will Follow is great, The bootleg stops here, but you can add '40' from the other source because it was also special with many snippets.
Overall, a very special, fun show that you have to check.
Lire la revue complète »

Performance:
Public:
Son:
Général:

1985-03-21 - Chicago par Ali709 évalué

mazing! It was the first ever Unforgettable Fire tour bootleg I listened to. It exceeded my expectations. It’s a very..
Lire la revue complète »

1984-11-05 - Edinburgh par aussiemofo évalué

I recommend this bootleg for those wanting to capture U2 in full flight during their TUF period. They were in..
Lire la revue complète »

1984-08-31 - Wellington par cesar_garza01 évalué

A very inspired show during weird circumstances. Bono had forgotten his guitar riffs and he had to buy his own..
Lire la revue complète »


War Tour

169 revues ont été écrites par 57 utilisateurs.

1983-05-05 - Boston

Ecrit par cesar_garza01 - il y a 2 années

First of all, the FM broadcast is NOT from this concert, it is actually from the show next day, so I think this is the first proper review of the show. And what a show! The band feed from the Irish-Bostonian vibe in the house and they gave it all. The main highlight of this boot is the last performance ever of Tomorrow. If you are a Tomorrow "completionist" like me, you must get this. I don't know why it wasn't played regularly. Another excellent performance was Two Hearts, with the Let's Twist Again part extended. 11 O'Clock was excellent as well. I'm a sucker for the Drowning Man snippet and the final solo is amazing. In Surrender Bono invoked the spirit of Michael Jackson and it was great. I liked the Brick/ A Day Without Me combo too. There's an unlisted snippet of Send In The Clowns in Electric Co. Perhaps the only song I can't consider good is Party Girl. They were still playing with it and it's not the version we know.
Funnily enough, Bono did mistakes between songs, like saying "It's great to be back in NY" (WTF?) or introducing NYD as Two Hearts.
Lire la revue complète »

Performance:
Public:
Son:
Général:

1983-06-01 - San Francisco par fleavox évalué

The show is plagued by tech problems but was oddly funny, specially after first 6 songs!!

Highlights: Out of Control..
Lire la revue complète »

1983-06-05 - Denver par EDDMB évalué

Classic.Just epic show.The band really found themselves at this time.Their live shows were so great.Just the band,the music was so..
Lire la revue complète »

1982-12-06 - London par CMIPalaeo évalué

A must-have. Excellent quality bootleg, probably the best I've heard from the early tours.

Highlights:
-Surrender (best performance, somewhat different than the..
Lire la revue complète »


October Tour

108 revues ont été écrites par 29 utilisateurs.

1982-03-17 - New York

Ecrit par cesar_garza01 - il y a 2 années

This and Lido Beach are perhaps the best October bootlegs you'll find. The setlist is great and some songs had slightly different lyrics, like The Cry part in Electric Co. According to Bono, they were almost arrested that day for trying to get into the St. Patrick's parade!
Highlights: Another Time, Another Place, An Cat Dubh/Into The Heart, Rejoice, Tomorrow (not the best version ever, I prefer the early War versions. Bono lied to the crowd saying it was the first performance ever. Naughty Bono!), Out Of Control and 11 O'Clock (Bono talks about Irish stereotypes and does a great snippet of Give Peace A Chance).
Lire la revue complète »

Performance:
Public:
Son:
Général:

1981-08-16 - Slane par CMIPalaeo évalué

An interesting show. Not great, but not as bad as the band cracked it up to be. Many of the..
Lire la revue complète »

1981-10-30 - Amsterdam par cesar_garza01 évalué

U2 in the Netherlands. Enough said. There's always something in the air when the band plays here and this show..
Lire la revue complète »

1982-07-04 - Werchter par cesar_garza01 évalué

U2 playing in Werchter for the first time (they eventually became the headliners just 3 years after) and they gave..
Lire la revue complète »


Boy Tour

117 revues ont été écrites par 42 utilisateurs.

1981-05-15 - San Francisco

Ecrit par CMIPalaeo - il y a 6 mois

Excellent early show, with just about all the Boy Tour material represented. The band are energetic and really doing a great job; mastering their craft already. It's really interesting, listening to a lot of the early tour shows, how Twilight often seemed to be treated as a really key point in the show - which I think is great, as it's one of my favourite U2 songs.

Bottom line: the performance is incredible, tight, and passionate, the sound quality is brilliant, Bono is playing around with the lyrics, and many songs have some absolutely outstanding performances. This is one of the best early bootlegs I have ever heard. One common problem I have with pre-TUF tour shows is that many versions of the early songs all sound very similar - this show gives them a lot of sparkle and uniqueness. I'll be revisiting this show many times.

Highlights:
- 11 O'Clock Tick Tock (both of 'em, of course - but especially the second one)
- The early version of I Fall Down
- Touch
- Stories For Boys with altered lyrics (one of the best)
- Boy/Girl/Out of Control
- Twilight with altered lyrics (one of the best)
- A Day Without Me
- the second The Ocean, with a little outro (one of the best)
Lire la revue complète »

Performance:
Public:
Son:
Général:

1981-05-15 - San Francisco par mookymookins évalué

This is one of the best Boy tour bootlegs around and has all the songs you'd expect to hear at..
Lire la revue complète »

1981-05-15 - San Francisco par cesar_garza01 évalué

I rediscovered this gig and it is truly fantastic. I listened to the old source a long time ago and..
Lire la revue complète »

1981-03-18 - San Jose par Dystopian45 évalué

As I remember it, this was a free show or cost next to nothing to attend. It was held in..
Lire la revue complète »


Early Days

33 revues ont été écrites par 21 utilisateurs.

1979-10-05 - Cork

Ecrit par cornellazar - il y a 1 année

I love this show / recording. All the old, unreleased tunes are stellar Punk/New Wave and hint at what U2 might have sounded like if they had continued on CBS or work with Martin Hannett beyond the 11 o'clock single.

Everything's great about this gig. To understand and gauge U2 of today is to really get into the spirit of this show. At the very core, little has changed.

Someone mentioned Glad To See You Go as a U2 song - it's actually a Ramones cover. The Edge hints at this by playing a few bars in Mount Temple School during the documentary It Might Get Loud.
Lire la revue complète »

Performance:
Public:
Son:
Général:

1980-03-02 - Tullamore par CMIPalaeo évalué

Nothing spectacular, fun but inexperienced performance and mediocre sound. The main selling point for this boot is the number of..
Lire la revue complète »

1979-10-05 - Cork par cesar_garza01 évalué

One of the earliest known bootlegs and a fun one to listen to. As many have said, only here you..
Lire la revue complète »

1979-10-05 - Cork par LikeASong évalué

One of the first recordings that exist from the band in its earliest stages. Just for that, this concert should..
Lire la revue complète »


Various Dates

169 revues ont été écrites par 65 utilisateurs.

2015-10-16 - London

Ecrit par ajr - il y a 2 années

Having seen a tweet late last Thursday afternoon from U2ComZooMods inviting a reply with just my name to maybe get tickets to the live broadcast of tfi Friday in London - I did just that.

tfi Friday launched the weekend for millions of fully signed up lads and ladettes back in the 90's. Brash and soaked in alcohol it was fast paced and at times funny, but always high energy.

Brought back off the shelf for a short run this year it jumped back into living rooms, now owned by the 90's lads and ladettes, on Friday past with U2 as the main draw.

So fast forward 20 hours and I am now stood outside a very small and now defunct theatre with a Production wrist band on my wrist and knowledge that the next two hours will be special.

The venue maybe had 150 in the performance area - a mix of 20 U2 fans, a handful of 40something women reliving their early twenties as Take That fans (for they were on the show as well) and I guess some members of the public. It was a strange crowd, but with the TV lighting it made for a hot sweaty club vibe.

Showtime - Raised By Wolves - the B Man is 6 feet away giving it everything. The sound was incredible and the lads played as if their very lives that night depended on it. I'm no writer, so there is no way that I can give you any understanding of how incredible it was to be in the room. Bizarrely, watching over the weekend on the extended playback, it came across as the worlds greatest live band did an ok job! By now you will have seen it for yourself, and I guess it plays back to way back when when U2 became the only band to ever go DOWN the charts after an appearance on Top of The Pops (UK TV chart show).

A very unenlightening interview later in the show away up on the theatre gallery was nothing more than swapping banter between host and band, and hosts Son and hosts Mother! That didn't matter the band weren't here to chat and we weren't there to listen to them talk!

They closed the TV broadcast with Vertigo. Edge's guitar sound taking our heads off! Song for Someone carried all the emotion and then the "This is our first single.." intro and a version of Out of Control that will be with me until I am no more. Just incredible. The room was too small to hold the energy! Bonotised with champagne and it was thank you, goodnight!

Dallas, Sammy, Jake and Stuart left to pick up the pieces as U" have left the building.

Insane evening - thank you to all who made it happen.

The venue was the Cochrane Theatre, London.

I was told that the tour will play indoors and outdoors next year, and then follow the yellow brick road to Aus/NZ in 2017........ Here's hoping!
Lire la revue complète »

Performance:
Public:
Son:
Général:

1983-12-18 - London par partygirl65 évalué

I didn't have a ticket to this show and I got a single 5th row ticket as a return at..
Lire la revue complète »

2011-10-15 - Hollywood par ahn1991 évalué

Wow. Just wow. Of the little hype this act was given, the band certainly came out and hit it out..
Lire la revue complète »

1979-02-00 - Dublin par CMIPalaeo évalué

Not a must-have, but an interesting look at U2's beginnings. For collectors of rare songs, this one has three unreleased..
Lire la revue complète »