Nos membres ont écrit un total de 3,949 revues de concert. Cette page est un excellent moyen d'explorer de nouveaux ou anciens étonnants concerts ou bootlegs,actualiser la page pour voir de nouvelles choses. Les concerts les plus cotés sont basés sur les concerts avec plus de deux revues. Vous pouvez également écrire un commentaire si vous avez assisté ou écouté un concert, et nous vous y invitons!

Joshua Tree Tour 2017

51 revues ont été écrites par 41 utilisateurs.

2017-06-07 - Pittsburgh

Ecrit par superrob1500 - il y a 16 jours

Got to Heinz Field around 7am to queue up and made #150 along with my sister. Around 8:30am we were given our GA field bands then we pretty much roamed the city for 6 hours until 2:30pm when it was time to come back. By 5pm we were in the stadium and were at the rail on the right side of the tree. I think the stadium managed the line pretty well, even helping those who had trouble with their CCs get in. As this was my 1st U2 live experience I might be biased to rate it highly but by god was it a good show and an amazing experience.
Lire la revue complète »

Performance:
Public:
Son:
Général:

2017-06-14 - Tampa par mgross15 évalué

U2 and Bono were energetic and sound quality was great! It rained during One Repuplic as the opening act,..
Lire la revue complète »

2017-06-23 - Toronto par jennagirl évalué

Almost perfection. This tour gets better and better. I was one behind the rail in front of Bono's mic -..
Lire la revue complète »

2017-06-20 - Landover par senrab évalué

Outstanding show. This was the first show I saw on this tour. The screen has to be seen in person..
Lire la revue complète »


Innocence and Experience tour

279 revues ont été écrites par 169 utilisateurs.

2015-05-30 - Inglewood

Ecrit par bcwgobuffs - il y a 2 années

So far starters, let’s put this review into context. LA 530 was my 18th or so show since 1983 and I’ve seen every tour including the Conspiracy of Hope Tour since then. {Curious readers can see the full list at the end}

It was nearly 32 years ago to the day that my sister, 12, and me, 18, stood side by side at the University of Colorado Events Center in Boulder; the night AFTER Red Rocks, for our first show.
Back in the day, Bono walked into the crowd sans a ramp, and that night he stood in the lower bowl equivalent not 5 feet from us and sang “send in the clowns, bring on the clowns” – magic.

Despite living 1,500 miles apart, Young Sis has joined me on 9 shows over the years: every tour but Pop, ironically, cuz she was pregnant with my nephew. Our other sister, Old Sis, at 1,700 miles away also attended LA 530 and was with us at 4 of the shows over the years. I have a unique U2 Tour family tradition with my sisters; and candidly we are wondering if LA 530 is the end. Plus, my wife’s been to 4 shows with me, my kids, one, even my parents got into the act in their sixties in 2005.

Enough of the Context, on to Los Angeles.

We went “Lazy GA” as some call it.

After clearing the sort of nerve wracking Credit Card Entry technology we ambled in to the Forum around 7:15 PM. Took our spot about 12 feet off of the E stage rail and hung out with the typical gracious and interesting U2 crowd. Fun fact, Anthony Kiedis of the Red Hot Chile Peppers and his girlfriend headlined the VIP cattle pen right behind us.

Bono’s entry near the E stage did not catch us off guard as fellow GAerz indicated it would happen. A cool moment anyway, and reminded me that U2 always seems to find a way to make the opening interesting.

The first four songs rocked: 20 minutes of pure adrenaline. I was pleasantly surprised at the opener, Miracle of Joey Ramone; it came off better than I expected though the sing along probably helped. Two songs from Boy and Vertigo were well placed and extremely powerful.

Other highlights for me, pre-Wanderer intermission, included Iris, Song for Someone, and Sunday Bloody Sunday. The visuals during Iris and Cedarwood Road were top notch and helped tell the story, and for the most part I thought the visuals helped the songs along without dominating them all night.

Upon re-hearing SBS through a bootleg this version it came off nicer than I thought too, but I suspect U2 might be tiring of trying to reinvent the song to make it interesting for them to play.
Song for Someone is a personal SOI fave – enjoyed seeing it from 15 feet of Bono, and his vocals were spot on during SFS and the entire night.

The Wanderer intermission was just that, intermission – nothing too exciting there for me.

From my perspective, the shows lower moments followed. Though I enjoyed hearing Invisible, and it was done well, I did not enjoy the full-band in the cage-screen routine. Especially during Better Than The Real Thing – the cage seemed to detract from the song and the band seemed stuck in a moment they could not get out of. Awkward might be the best word.

Moving on to the E Stage the band added a fifth member for Mysterious Ways and this guy sucker punched and faux boxed and danced with Bono whilst also taking charge of the Meerkat Stream, I think. Pretty sure this guy’s been on stage before; it looked pretty chummy all around. It was interesting to see the Meerkat stream pushed to the video wall in the Forum; that was a WTF is going on technology moment for me and my 50+ years.

Up next, Stuck, Elevation and Every Breaking Wave bellowed right in front of us, though my previously mentioned sisters people surfed closer to the rail, while I held back. Every Breaking Wave was amazing in this context, and a woman next to me fired up a real Bic Lighter, which I joked, “it only shows your age” and this observation got me both the stink eye and a laugh.

Not a big fan of Stuck anymore, but this piano version was nice; the other tour debut, Elevation, was very energetic as well.

Speaking of “not a big fan,” Bullet was next. Having seen this song nearly 15 times, I’d previously posted, “no mas, it’s my bathroom break.” Much to my very pleasant surprise, Bullet was more like a Cannon or a Bomb. I really enjoyed this take on an old classic from ’87.

From Bullet forward the show was above average, though nothing super spectacular from my viewpoint. Hands that Built leading into Pride was very solid, and the sing along for With or Without You was a lot of fun as always. COBL was good, but the poor 8-year old kid on stage looked petrified and sort of detracted from the song in my view. Streets and Beautiful Day were also solid, and the tie in to Red with Streets was tastefully done.

Though I enjoyed Still Have Not Found and the band exit, that song is not my first choice as a closer – but they never asked me. I’m a traditionalist so I’d have preferred something from SOI or “40.” “40” is the best closing song from any band, ever; it’s chilling to sing along after the band leaves the stage IMO.

All in all, a great night punctuated by a solid set list, an amazing sound and video system, and the company of my sisters. U2 were in great form, Bono sounded great, and despite a couple of awkward cage-screen and stage guest moments, this was a great show. Really great.

At $85 I’d do this again in a heartbeat, and next time I’ll just walk in about 8:15 and still have one hell of a good night.

War – Boulder, CO
Unforgettable Fire – Denver (St.Patricks Day)
Joshua Tree – Denver, Kansas City
Conspiracy of Hope – Denver, 3rd row, my best seats ever.
Pop – Kansas City
Zoo Inside – Phoenix
Zoo Outside – Ames, Iowa and Denver
Elevation – Chicago, Kansas City, Oakland
Vertigo – Omaha, Minneapolis, Denver
360 – Minneapolis, Las Vegas
SOI – Los Angeles, #Hoping2016
Lire la revue complète »

Performance:
Public:
Son:
Général:

2015-11-07 - Glasgow par u2fancat évalué

Hello, hello.. last U2 concert in Britain this year! After an amazing show the night before, I was hoping for..
Lire la revue complète »

2015-11-24 - Dublin par u2fancat évalué

Well, what a difference it makes to arrive early! The corridors were practically deserted, and I was soon able to..
Lire la revue complète »

2015-10-30 - London par u2fancat évalué

So, I ended the week with another U2 concert! I swung by home first - I wanted to shop on..
Lire la revue complète »


U2 360° Tour

724 revues ont été écrites par 364 utilisateurs.

2011-06-18 - Anaheim

Ecrit par ahn1991 - il y a 5 années

It's my first U2 concert, so how can't I give this a 5! But seriously, it's a great bootleg. The band mixed up the setlist in preparation of Glastonbury and the high powered opener worked like a charm. I actually like the format in which there is only 1 encore break. It seems to work better for me.

Highlights:
THE FLY!! - tour debut, a super charged song, the whole stadium went crazy
One - an extremely powerful speech about shrinking the stadium down to one digit followed by a great performance of the song. I personally think Bono's speeches work way better than the pre-recorded segment. No offense, Aung San Suu Kyi. It's a great thing that you were released, but Bono plays the crowd better.
Streets - I remember my mind being absolutely blown when I heard that intro
Ultra Violet - This beauty makes a comeback after about a month and it's just as great as ever! I personally like this song way better than HMTMKMKM, simply because it works way better with WOWY and MOS.
MOS - very moving because of the Jungleland reading at the end.
Lire la revue complète »

Performance:
Public:
Son:
Général:

2009-08-20 - Sheffield par wangmaster évalué

brilliant radio broadcast of a fantastic gig that's sure to become a highlight of the tour and a classic show..
Lire la revue complète »

2009-08-18 - Glasgow par Anam évalué

When U2 played Glasgow in 2009, it was less a '360 degree' experience and more a '220 degree' one. As..
Lire la revue complète »

2009-09-23 - East Rutherford par EDDMB évalué

I loved this show."The Manhattan skylin,The City Of Blinding Lights".Bonos great quote.Nothing like seeing the band band here.Your Blue Room..
Lire la revue complète »


Vertigo Tour

417 revues ont été écrites par 123 utilisateurs.

2006-02-12 - Monterrey

Ecrit par Bloodraven - il y a 2 années

20 years of my life waiting to see them, and this is what I got.

The crowd was disappointing, even before getting to the stadium, maybe it's just anecdotal evidence, but there were a lot of people going because it would be cool to say "I went to see U2" even if they didn't know nothing but a couple of songs.

In the stadium, around me I was the only weirdo singing and screaming and jumping while everyone else just stared me from their own seats as if we were at some symphonic orchestra instead of at a U2 show.

In my mind it was just a "not-so-awesome" experience, but when I downloaded and listened to the bootleg it came back to me and no. It was not just "not-so-awesome". It was terrible.
The bootleg is even worse than reality with the few guys around the mic talking through the whole show.

Cielito Lindo was a bad choice itself for Bad, but it was worse that it was the only thing people decided to sing along. It looked like they didn't cared about Bad or anything else on the concert, oh but they can sing Cielito Lindo. I had forgotten how embarrased I felt at the moment (after the initial couple of seconds of "oh, that's cool!" when Bono started it), but the bootleg reminded it to me.

Finally, even after Love And Peace or Else had already started, the guys near the microphone in the bootleg are still discussing and betting that it's Desire what they're about to play.
I said finally because that's all that I could take and deleted it on the spot. Didn't even finished the song.

It was so bad I would find it funny if I hadn't been there.
Lire la revue complète »

Performance:
Public:
Son:
Général:

2006-03-02 - Buenos Aires par Arghier évalué

I have this same record but split into 4 parts, 5 or 6 songs in each one. so, if you..
Lire la revue complète »

2005-06-18 - London par EDDMB évalué

Its great..I would give it a 5 but..the 3 missing songs make me take off a notch.This is a MUST..
Lire la revue complète »

2005-09-17 - Toronto par haytrain évalué

Show Highlights:
This really goes without saying, but the Mofo/Discotheque sequence really steals the show. In fact, it's the whole reason..
Lire la revue complète »


Elevation Tour

326 revues ont été écrites par 85 utilisateurs.

2001-10-13 - Hamilton

Ecrit par mattfromcanada - il y a 3 mois

As this was my first GA experience, I took the day off with my brother and stood in line in the early October weather. It wasn’t that cold out, but as we were in one spot for much of the day a chill could catch you. Fortunately, that was made up for by the wonderful experience that is a U2 GA line. I’ve had 6 GA shows and have only ever been disappointed in one of them. My brother and I have always loved U2, and somehow during our teenage years (late 90’s) ‘Out Of Control’ became our signature driving song. When we got in, the Heart was full so we parked ourselves just to the right of the tip of the Heart. So when they finished New Year’s Day and Out Of Control started thumping….well if you’ve experienced it, you know. To top it off, Bono pulled a fan on-stage old school (way to go Arun!), we got Angel Of Harlem, and my personal favourite, Bad. Hear Bad live that close on a GA experience is probably in my top 5 U2 moments. Again, if you’ve experienced it. A surprise cover of ‘What’s Going On’ followed in the encore which U2 just somehow made their own, and we were treated to the ‘Shine Like Stars’ tag on WOWY. Again, the GA crowd knew what a treat that was. I don’t know if U2 will ever come back to Hamilton, I don’t know if they know. This was to date, the only show ever in Hamilton. There were 18,000 luck fans who get to say they were there, and I'm proud to have been one of them.
Lire la revue complète »

Performance:
Public:
Son:
Général:

2001-10-27 - New York par cesar_garza01 évalué

From the outside, this is simply the best Elevation concert and the most special one. It was way more important..
Lire la revue complète »

2001-07-21 - Turin par clover68 évalué

Maybe I’m too biased about this night. Some issues don’t ruin at all what was a perfect special magic night,..
Lire la revue complète »

2001-10-10 - South Bend par djrlewis évalué

You should definitely have this boot in your collection. It's now one of the best sounding for all tours and..
Lire la revue complète »


Popmart

333 revues ont été écrites par 102 utilisateurs.

1997-08-28 - Leeds

Ecrit par ric - il y a 8 années

absolutely the best popmart gig in my opinion - there are a couple of other shows that might be considered equally as good but we've all seen/heard mexico 1000's of times and the other well known highlights from the final shows of the tour and of course sarajevo which were all great but this gig just has something else about it for me. the band seems to be relaxed but at the same time on TOP form, and refreshingly there are no serious moments, not even from bono who just seems to be having a great time.

every song is awesome but the (many) highlights are"

mofo-i will follow are the best you will ever hear them bar none, new years day is as good as it ever got in 97, miami-bullet will blow your face off (i have never heard a more brutal sounding first few bars of bullet). please is intense, discotheque with its whole lotta' love outro is my favourite version of this song ever, velvet dress has the extra verse, HMTMKMKM is perfect, mysterious ways is also my favourite version ever - the george harrison outro just works SO well!! and the the closing cover of rain is the icing on the cake.

if you're a fan of the popmart era this has to be in your top 3 MUST HAVE shows! you will listen to it over and over again
Lire la revue complète »

Performance:
Public:
Son:
Général:

1997-12-03 - Mexico City par loftarasa évalué

No lows, just highs really!
This was one of the first bootlegs I listened to and is since then my..
Lire la revue complète »

1997-05-31 - East Rutherford par EDDMB évalué

Well,as I said,I was down on the band at this point.Thank God they woke up and went back to basics..
Lire la revue complète »

1998-03-21 - Johannesburg par nfsmulder évalué

Review written on 22 March, 1998.

Saturday night i was rather deaf and got in bed @ 2am - but sooooooo..
Lire la revue complète »


ZOO TV

497 revues ont été écrites par 133 utilisateurs.

1993-06-04 - Munich

Ecrit par MattG - il y a 7 années

My ratings were pretty much consistent 3.5's all the way across the board, and here's why. This show wasn't terrible. It wasn't painful to listen to. But there are two things about it that made me not want to revisit this show.

1)The performance is inconsistent. Some of the greatest highlights (and some songs truly were great- "Running to Stand Still" with an awe-inspiring outro, Bullet the Blue Sky just before that, and Until the End of the World) were just too far between. I felt like this show was very, very inconsistent. Perfect word to describe what I thought of this show.

2)Probably goes hand in hand with #1...but I just couldn't feel the ZooTV spirit. The satirical, party animal element of the first couple of songs just didn't seem to be as prominent, and the unenthused Bono didn't help much either. There just wasn't that aura of greatness surrounding this show, for whatever reason.

The ultimate highlight is the trio of Dirty Old Town (sung by Larry!!!), Angel of Harlem, and Tryin' to Throw Your Arms Around the World. This was the real excellent part of the show for me, when I found myself enjoying it the most.

Give this one a listen only if you're a serious ZooTV enthusiast. If not, you're better off searching for a better, more glittering prize of a show.
Lire la revue complète »

Performance:
Public:
Son:
Général:

1992-06-13 - Kiel par cesar_garza01 évalué

The beginning of this show was really strong, with Bono trying to talk in German. Excellent versions of EBTTRT, Mysterious..
Lire la revue complète »

1992-04-23 - Vancouver par Breemsicle évalué

One of my favorite 1st leg shows, second only to the Boston Saint Patrick's Day show.

Highlights:

Even Better than the Real..
Lire la revue complète »

1992-08-16 - Washington par Ali709 évalué

The bootleg includes the full intro of the concert, which has the “drug of a nation” bit and the one..
Lire la revue complète »


Lovetown

172 revues ont été écrites par 71 utilisateurs.

1989-12-01 - Osaka

Ecrit par nickbibby - il y a 7 années

I like Lovetown because it throws up some real surprise sets and this tops the lot. Opening by playing over a recorded Stand By Me, with Edge singing a whole verse to himself, followed by Pride and New Years Day was a shock! I personally enjoy some proper rock towards the end of a concert and so was delighted to hear All Long The Watchtower so late on

The major highlight for me is the run from MLK - One Tree Hill - Streets - Gloria - Help - Bad. All wonderful songs on there own, but the way they were put together here is a prime example of how U2 can really pound your senses and emotions in a live show. The segues between One Tree Hill - Streets - Gloria make you wonder why they haven't continued to play those three songs as a staple of every show.

The other highlight was Slow Dancing. A very pretty song, played tenderly.

Disappointments for me begin and end with Pride. It's not one of my favourites to start with but when they put their absolute heart and soul into it I feel it just lifts the song to another level. With Pride being almost first up I thought this would be the case, but it's as if it's used just as a warm-up and they only really get going when New Years Day kicks in. Shame.

All in all it's a boot that should probably be in every fans' collection.
Lire la revue complète »

Performance:
Public:
Son:
Général:

1989-12-01 - Osaka par aussiemofo évalué

Highlights
* The upside down setlist

* Bono playing audience cop as he was prone to do during this era. I don't..
Lire la revue complète »

1989-12-15 - Dortmund par cesar_garza01 évalué

It doesn't get any better than this Lovetown leg and Dortmund is no exception. Perhaps the best show of the..
Lire la revue complète »

1989-12-01 - Osaka par cesar_garza01 évalué

The setlist was shaken quite a bit, I don't know if it flows well, but it's always interesting to hear..
Lire la revue complète »


Joshua Tree Tour

291 revues ont été écrites par 95 utilisateurs.

1987-06-17 - Cologne

Ecrit par bodoheil - il y a 1 année

The atmosphere was very foul. It was my first U2 concert, but not my first stadium concert, and I remember it well. The rain had started in the afternoon, but in the morning and around noon it had been very hot. There was a terrible pushing and shoving of the audience waiting at the entrances for doors open, and many seemed to be well drunk and I did see many, many empty drinks containers, beer cans, wine packs and bottles outside. The doors open seemed badly organised. Some a few yards away opened before others did, the seemed to be little coordination. People were pissed off by that, they wanted an equal chance in the run to the centre stage spots.

The openers, I remember The Pretenders, Big Audio Dynamite and Lou Reed, were all booed and generally badly accepted, at least in the part of the audience I happened to be stuck in, which was third, second row, slightly to the right of centre stage. The place looked like an open battle for the first row and of course I participated first, being rather stoutly built and not one to back off easily. This concert had meant the world to me, after I had gotten hold of a ticket, through a multitude of different lucky concurrences.

I believe, I cannot be sure anymore about it, that The Daltons opened last. I might confuse that, though, with a show I might have seen on the internet of that time, after all, it's been 28 years.

When WTSHNN began with its droning synth-sounds and the guitar's delayed arpeggios, and the band appeared one by one, the crowd went mad and the stifling squeeze got worse. But when the bass and the drums joined and slowly built up the song's hard pushing, driving beat the crowd went berserk. I had a fight with an American, a GI by his crew cut and confidence, and the security did not notice. He hit me in the nose, but luckily he could not swing properly, for lack of room to move. I could not get my arms up enough, so I hit where I could. The security were highly unprofessional (I did that job later in life myself) and completely taken aback with the sheer violence of the crowd's pushing forward, the yelling and the screaming of girls who obviously were in acute fear. The waves of people’s shoving often moved me ten or more yards away from where I had been before. I remember the moment when the band jumped into the first song and the red lights flooded all over the rain-drenched crowd. The heat from the electric lights washed over the people and actually felt quite warm on the face. Seconds afterwards clouds of vapour of the drying rain partially took away the sight of the stage.

I had had enough by then. I withdrew to the seats ranks, found myself a place and watched from about a hundred yards away. I was deeply disappointed with the on-goings and felt betrayed and let down. I had thought that we had all been there together to celebrate the same thing. I had been wrong. U2 had become a phenomenon and had stopped being a rock and roll band. They were a sensation, not music to dance and sing the lyrics and to feel alive by, because the songs spoke to you about your life and you inner self. This was a spectacle, not a concert. No one danced. They all fought. No one sang. Everybody screamed. No one had fun. They all tried to hold on to their place or get a better one by being more brutal than the opponent, because that is what everybody was, an adversary and a rival in trying to be as close to the band as possible. Do not think that I was naive about it. I understood as I do now that people want to be as close as possible to their lucky stars. But I wasn't expecting the brutality I encountered, and it did not seem to make sense, and I was not prepared to put up with it, as I would not be today. I do not think that it was anything else but sheer good fortune that there wasn't anyone killed in the throng in front of the stage. It was brutal enough for that. None of my later U2 shows had that quality and quantity of ruthlessness and viciousness.

When 40 began I was on my way out, walking outside the stadium trying to hitchhike my way back to where I was due. I remember feeling like hell. It took me weeks to be able to enjoy the music again.
Lire la revue complète »

Performance:
Public:
Son:
Général:

1987-09-28 - New York par EDDMB évalué

I think this gig has flown under the radar.I know it was a long time ago,but this is classic U2.No..
Lire la revue complète »

1987-09-12 - Philadelphia par viridian1 évalué

First concert I ever went to age 17. I haven't missed a U2 tour since. Listening to this was like..
Lire la revue complète »

1987-04-10 - Las Cruces par CMIPalaeo évalué

Early in the tour, a strange setlist order, no "40" closer... It's worth adding to your collection, and it's quite..
Lire la revue complète »


Conspiracy Of Hope

21 revues ont été écrites par 10 utilisateurs.

1986-06-13 - Rosemont

Ecrit par MattG - il y a 7 années

Everything I WASN'T looking forward to about this show, I loved. "Pride" and "Maggie's Farm", I wasn't all that cracked up about listening to. The former is on just about every show I ever listen to, and it gets tiring, the latter I just didn't care much about. They ended up both being phenomenal.

The "Norwegian Wood" intro to "Bad" is outstanding, and chorus gives me goosebumps. Listen to some recent shows (Vertigo, 360°), and then give this one a spin- Yes, folks- Bono DID used to sound like that

Everything about this show is simply gorgeous. Download it RIGHT. NOW.
Lire la revue complète »

Performance:
Public:
Son:
Général:


Unforgettable Fire Tour

247 revues ont été écrites par 67 utilisateurs.

1985-04-18 - Worcester

Ecrit par cesar_garza01 - il y a 2 années

One of the most special UF shows and the best setlist of the tour! At the beginning Bono said they wanted to give something special to Massachusetts, and boy, they did. Last Brick, A Day Without Me and I Fall Down ever. A Day Without Me is a mess, Dear Prudence snippet included, but it's a fun mess. Even Bono says "sometimes you just forget". Unforgettable Fire was very special with the "Stay tonight in a lie" replaced by diff. lyrics and sounded very good. The show continued in great way, and Electric Co. was another highlight, as usual for UF shows. After that, Bono picks up a boy from the audience, his father explains in the mic that his name is Ever Peaceful (no kidding!). Bono says that's the best name he ever heard, then he wanted to give him a balloon but it pops, he says he wants an "Ever Peaceful Award" procured.
Bad is over 12 min long with great snippets. During NYD, Bono tosses the mic down, and you hear some cheering, so maybe he was doing his climbing thing around the place. Party Girl is 7 min long! All bets are off, some girl Bono calls Maid Marion is introduced to Ever Peaceful. Bono, as all the joking continues, says something like "We're a really serious political band, remember?" He then serenades Ever with the "Papa come home" snippet introducing Ever Peaceful into the snippet! The boy grabs Bono's hat and B. sings Auld Lang Syne for him. I Will Follow is great, The bootleg stops here, but you can add '40' from the other source because it was also special with many snippets.
Overall, a very special, fun show that you have to check.
Lire la revue complète »

Performance:
Public:
Son:
Général:

1985-01-31 - Cologne par cesar_garza01 évalué

Fantastic show that will always be remembered by the best version of ''40'' ever: more than 16 minutes! And..
Lire la revue complète »

1984-08-31 - Wellington par cesar_garza01 évalué

A very inspired show during weird circumstances. Bono had forgotten his guitar riffs and he had to buy his own..
Lire la revue complète »

1984-09-15 - Melbourne par cesar_garza01 évalué

A very interesting show, not yet a UF show and not a War show either. The band was in a..
Lire la revue complète »


War Tour

169 revues ont été écrites par 57 utilisateurs.

1983-06-01 - San Francisco

Ecrit par fleavox - il y a 9 mois

The show is plagued by tech problems but was oddly funny, specially after first 6 songs!!

Highlights: Out of Control (disaster but really funny, when they restarted the song, was very well played), Seconds (Edge's guitar sounds different), Sunday Bloody Sunday (Edge's backing vocals with rough voice, I don't know if was Larry or Adam, but I also can clearly hear one third voice on chorus), Electric Co, October (a bit out of tempo, but sounds good), New Year's Day (same case than Seconds), Gloria (Larry's drums sound amazing during Adam's solo, and at end, Edge's voice sounds rough again, one of my fave versions on this tour), 11 O'Clock Tick Tock (all the cases, Edge's guitar and backing vocals sounds a bit different, drums and bass sounding amazing), and 40 (powerfull drums and good crowd)

Strange case that almost all highlights deserves some comments!
Lire la revue complète »

Performance:
Public:
Son:
Général:

1983-05-05 - Boston par cesar_garza01 évalué

First of all, the FM broadcast is NOT from this concert, it is actually from the show next day, so..
Lire la revue complète »

1982-12-06 - London par CMIPalaeo évalué

A must-have. Excellent quality bootleg, probably the best I've heard from the early tours.

Highlights:
-Surrender (best performance, somewhat different than the..
Lire la revue complète »

1982-12-02 - Manchester par bowenjaybee évalué

This was one of a handful of U2 bootlegs that I got hold of from a record fair in..
Lire la revue complète »


October Tour

107 revues ont été écrites par 28 utilisateurs.

1982-03-17 - New York

Ecrit par cesar_garza01 - il y a 2 années

This and Lido Beach are perhaps the best October bootlegs you'll find. The setlist is great and some songs had slightly different lyrics, like The Cry part in Electric Co. According to Bono, they were almost arrested that day for trying to get into the St. Patrick's parade!
Highlights: Another Time, Another Place, An Cat Dubh/Into The Heart, Rejoice, Tomorrow (not the best version ever, I prefer the early War versions. Bono lied to the crowd saying it was the first performance ever. Naughty Bono!), Out Of Control and 11 O'Clock (Bono talks about Irish stereotypes and does a great snippet of Give Peace A Chance).
Lire la revue complète »

Performance:
Public:
Son:
Général:

1982-07-04 - Werchter par cesar_garza01 évalué

U2 playing in Werchter for the first time (they eventually became the headliners just 3 years after) and they gave..
Lire la revue complète »

1982-01-26 - Dublin par daymo1202 évalué

A good friend of mine was at this show and was billed as U2's homecoming show in Dublin in January..
Lire la revue complète »

1981-10-30 - Amsterdam par cesar_garza01 évalué

U2 in the Netherlands. Enough said. There's always something in the air when the band plays here and this show..
Lire la revue complète »


Boy Tour

117 revues ont été écrites par 42 utilisateurs.

1981-05-15 - San Francisco

Ecrit par CMIPalaeo - il y a 2 mois

Excellent early show, with just about all the Boy Tour material represented. The band are energetic and really doing a great job; mastering their craft already. It's really interesting, listening to a lot of the early tour shows, how Twilight often seemed to be treated as a really key point in the show - which I think is great, as it's one of my favourite U2 songs.

Bottom line: the performance is incredible, tight, and passionate, the sound quality is brilliant, Bono is playing around with the lyrics, and many songs have some absolutely outstanding performances. This is one of the best early bootlegs I have ever heard. One common problem I have with pre-TUF tour shows is that many versions of the early songs all sound very similar - this show gives them a lot of sparkle and uniqueness. I'll be revisiting this show many times.

Highlights:
- 11 O'Clock Tick Tock (both of 'em, of course - but especially the second one)
- The early version of I Fall Down
- Touch
- Stories For Boys with altered lyrics (one of the best)
- Boy/Girl/Out of Control
- Twilight with altered lyrics (one of the best)
- A Day Without Me
- the second The Ocean, with a little outro (one of the best)
Lire la revue complète »

Performance:
Public:
Son:
Général:

1981-05-15 - San Francisco par mookymookins évalué

This is one of the best Boy tour bootlegs around and has all the songs you'd expect to hear at..
Lire la revue complète »

1981-04-09 - Minneapolis par CMIPalaeo évalué

Very strong performance with great sound. The only possible complaints would be that it's kind of short (only 12 different..
Lire la revue complète »

1981-05-11 - Denver par cesar_garza01 évalué

Excellent Boy bootleg with one of the best sounds available. The previous source was incomplete, but now we have the..
Lire la revue complète »


Early Days

37 revues ont été écrites par 22 utilisateurs.

1979-10-05 - Cork

Ecrit par cornellazar - il y a 10 mois

I love this show / recording. All the old, unreleased tunes are stellar Punk/New Wave and hint at what U2 might have sounded like if they had continued on CBS or work with Martin Hannett beyond the 11 o'clock single.

Everything's great about this gig. To understand and gauge U2 of today is to really get into the spirit of this show. At the very core, little has changed.

Someone mentioned Glad To See You Go as a U2 song - it's actually a Ramones cover. The Edge hints at this by playing a few bars in Mount Temple School during the documentary It Might Get Loud.
Lire la revue complète »

Performance:
Public:
Son:
Général:

1980-02-26 - Dublin par Bullet_Blue évalué

The tracks that latter would be included on Boy have different lyrics or structures, so it's very interesting listening to..
Lire la revue complète »

1979-10-05 - Cork par cesar_garza01 évalué

One of the earliest known bootlegs and a fun one to listen to. As many have said, only here you..
Lire la revue complète »

1980-02-26 - Dublin par CMIPalaeo évalué

Silver Lining is an early version of 11 O'Clock Tick Tock. Musically it's nearly identical (except a few neat little..
Lire la revue complète »


Various Dates

161 revues ont été écrites par 61 utilisateurs.

2015-10-16 - London

Ecrit par ajr - il y a 1 année

Having seen a tweet late last Thursday afternoon from U2ComZooMods inviting a reply with just my name to maybe get tickets to the live broadcast of tfi Friday in London - I did just that.

tfi Friday launched the weekend for millions of fully signed up lads and ladettes back in the 90's. Brash and soaked in alcohol it was fast paced and at times funny, but always high energy.

Brought back off the shelf for a short run this year it jumped back into living rooms, now owned by the 90's lads and ladettes, on Friday past with U2 as the main draw.

So fast forward 20 hours and I am now stood outside a very small and now defunct theatre with a Production wrist band on my wrist and knowledge that the next two hours will be special.

The venue maybe had 150 in the performance area - a mix of 20 U2 fans, a handful of 40something women reliving their early twenties as Take That fans (for they were on the show as well) and I guess some members of the public. It was a strange crowd, but with the TV lighting it made for a hot sweaty club vibe.

Showtime - Raised By Wolves - the B Man is 6 feet away giving it everything. The sound was incredible and the lads played as if their very lives that night depended on it. I'm no writer, so there is no way that I can give you any understanding of how incredible it was to be in the room. Bizarrely, watching over the weekend on the extended playback, it came across as the worlds greatest live band did an ok job! By now you will have seen it for yourself, and I guess it plays back to way back when when U2 became the only band to ever go DOWN the charts after an appearance on Top of The Pops (UK TV chart show).

A very unenlightening interview later in the show away up on the theatre gallery was nothing more than swapping banter between host and band, and hosts Son and hosts Mother! That didn't matter the band weren't here to chat and we weren't there to listen to them talk!

They closed the TV broadcast with Vertigo. Edge's guitar sound taking our heads off! Song for Someone carried all the emotion and then the "This is our first single.." intro and a version of Out of Control that will be with me until I am no more. Just incredible. The room was too small to hold the energy! Bonotised with champagne and it was thank you, goodnight!

Dallas, Sammy, Jake and Stuart left to pick up the pieces as U" have left the building.

Insane evening - thank you to all who made it happen.

The venue was the Cochrane Theatre, London.

I was told that the tour will play indoors and outdoors next year, and then follow the yellow brick road to Aus/NZ in 2017........ Here's hoping!
Lire la revue complète »

Performance:
Public:
Son:
Général:

1983-12-18 - London par partygirl65 évalué

I didn't have a ticket to this show and I got a single 5th row ticket as a return at..
Lire la revue complète »

1987-11-11 - San Francisco par Unknown évalué

A true raw outdoor performance. Engagement with the crowd takes place at some level on almost every song. Three..
Lire la revue complète »

1979-02-00 - Dublin par CMIPalaeo évalué

Not a must-have, but an interesting look at U2's beginnings. For collectors of rare songs, this one has three unreleased..
Lire la revue complète »